Familiar Bluets (Enallagma civile) in copula

Familiar Bluets (Enallagma civile) and informal wildlife surveying

Familiar Bluets (Enallagma civile) in copula
Familiar Bluets (Enallagma civile) in copula, Boulder, Colorado, USA. The female has several parasitic mites on her abdomen. June 22, 2012.

Very close to my workplace there’s a small manmade pond, not much more than a drainage ditch. I go there a few times a week during lunch, and I’ve been informally keeping track of the animals I see since I started my job in March. It’s rather amazing how much diversity there is in this tiny urban pond!

Last week I found this mating pair of (I think–correct me if I’m wrong, because pond damsels are not my forté) Familiar Bluets (Enallagma civile). You can see that the brown female has some parasitic mites on her abdomen (Jim Johnson at Northwest Dragonflier has an excellent post about odonates and mites).

So far this year I’ve seen

Variegated Meadowhawk (Sympetrum corruptum)
Common Green Darner (Anax junius)
Common Whitetail (Plathemis lydia)
Blue-eyed Darner (Rhioaeschna multicolor)
Twelve-spotted Skimmer (Libellula pulchella)
Blue Dasher (Pachydiplax longipennis)
Plains Forktail (Ischnura)
Familiar Bluet (Enallagma civile)

And assorted other insects, as well as some common birds. It’s not quite as diverse as larger wetland areas in Boulder like Sawhill Pond, but still not bad for a pond maybe 15 feet across.

Leave a Reply

