Variegated Meadowhawk (Sympetrum corruptum)

Variegated Meadowhawk (Sympetrum corruptum) landing

Variegated Meadowhawk (Sympetrum corruptum)
A Variegated Meadowhawk (Sympetrum corruptum) coming in for a landing, Barr Lake State Park, Colorado, USA. July 15, 2012.

Not quite a perfect photo, but I’m always pleased with dragonfly action shots. On Sunday, my partner and I went to Barr Lake State Park to look around and take the Eagle Express, a free ranger-led tour, to look for nesting Bald Eagles (Haliaeetus leucocephalus).

We only saw one juvenile eagle, but there were quite a lot of other interesting animals, including this meadowhawk, who kept cooperatively returning to the same perch. I think if I’d had a tripod I could have managed a clearer shot, but that’s life.

Sadly, the patch of milkweed that was host to so many wonderful wasps two weeks ago was no longer in flower…but it did have a lot of milkweed beetles (Tetraopes spp.) and some other interesting visitors, so stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Variegated Meadowhawk (Sympetrum corruptum) landing”

    1. I had to prefocus, so hand-holding wasn’t ideal. But at least now I have a pretty good idea of how to do it if I do have a tripod and run into another dragonfly who keeps returning to the same perch.

      Your photography is great!

Leave a Reply

