Band-winged Meadowhawk (Sympetrum semicinctum)

Band-winged Meadowhawk (Sympetrum semicinctum)

Band-winged Meadowhawk (Sympetrum semicinctum)
A female Band-winged Meadowhawk (Sympetrum semicinctum) in Longmont, Colorado, USA. July 28, 2012.

Band-winged Meadowhawks (Sympetrum semicinctum) were probably the most common dragonfly on Saturday. I believe this one is a mature female.

I originally bought my macro lens for dragonfly photography, and I do use it for damselflies when I’m feeling patient enough for stalking, as it produces far better results for their small size. But I’ve mostly ended up using it for smaller, less flighty insects.

Every now and then, I do manage to find a cooperative dragonfly, usually a member of a species prone to perching, like many meadowhawks. Are the results better than with my cheap kit telephoto? Probably…but if I limited myself to photographing the dragonflies that let me get that close, I wouldn’t have many dragonfly shots.

For comparison, here’s a photo I took last fall with a telephoto lens at Sawhill Ponds in Boulder of an adult male:

Band-winged Meadowhawk (Sympetrum semicinctum fasciatum)

Not the best angle on either, but I think the macro lens produces sharper images.

Leave a Reply

